Home > journal, Poor-Man's Gaming > Terraria Journal

Terraria Journal

DAY 1

I have decided to keep a journal of my journeys, perhaps it will help me stay sane. I have no idea how I got here, or if I will ever leave, but if I don’t this journal will help people understand who I am.

I awoke to find myself on a cliff, overlooking a small pool of water. A man was hovering over me, he smiled when I awoke. “Oh good, I was worried you weren’t going to make it. Welcome to Terraria!”

The man said he was my “Guide”. He wasn’t able to do too much guiding though, as he told me nightfall would come soon, and when it did, we would be in a bad way if we didn’t have shelter. I decided not to ask, and instead went to go find some wood. Searching my bag I discovered I had an axe. Where this came from, I have no idea, but it helped me collect enough wood to slap together a house. While gathering I was assaulted by strange, jelly monsters. My new axe made short work of them, as did a pickaxe I found. Returning to the cliff where I awoke, I got to work on our simple shelter. I got the roof over our heads just as night fell. My Guide told me to seal us in, it would be safer that way.

I was about to find out what he meant.

Night’s are horrid here. I couldn’t see anything, but I could hear the thump of horrible monsters slamming into our walls, and this terrible moaning sound. I discovered that some of the slime I took from the jellies earlier was flammable. I made some torches, and lit up our small fort. Sleep was impossible, there was nothing for me to do but wait.

Day 2

In the morning I set about building a proper home. I managed to make a work table, and from that I made two doors, a table and some chairs. My shelter complete,  my Guide advised me to start digging for metals, like copper or iron. I agreed, and made a small hole in the floor, and began to dig. I was surprised to find a cavern directly below where I built my home. It seemed to go on forever!  I could easily get lost exploring.

A photo, seemingly taken through a solid wall of rock. I found it in my room.

 

I soon feel weaker, the various slimes have hurt me. I eat one of the mushrooms I picked up, and feel much better, my wounds sealing up. Is it magic, or am I halucinateing? I will investigate this further later.

Digging deeper, I come across something unusual, something unlike the various ore I have found. Its a heart, made out of stone. It’s too heavy to pick up, and if it wasn’t for my guide I wouldn’t know what to do with it. I take my hammer, and swing once at it. The heart shatters, and in the shards is a smaller heart, made of some kind of crystal. When I pick it I feel an immense strength fill me. I feel like my life has been extended somehow.

This new strength is soon put to the test! Night has fallen without my notice, and a zombie attacks! My sword is no match as they come in swarms. With a horrible cry, and I devowered.

I died. I know that sounds strange, but thats the only word for it. One minute I was swarmed by zombies, my vision fadeing, then there was an incredible pain, and then suddenly I was on the cliff near my home, my wounds healed. I asked my guide about it but he had no answer, only saying “If you build a bed, you will wake up there instead”. While it ryhmed, it didn’t help me at all. When I asked him how to make a bed he said out of cobwebs.

This is a horrible place.

Day ?

I finally found my journal, I lost it in the caves on day 3. I don’t even know what day it is now, Much has changed, where do I even begin? I am no longer the scared weekling getting killed by swarms of zombies, now I can kill swarms of them with little trouble. I have new equipment, armor, and weapons to help me, but I myself am far stronger. Those hearts I find in my mines seem to be increasing my health every time, and I have even managed to tap into magic, or “Mana” via falling stars.

My home has grown. Its not just me and my Guide anymore. There is a nurse, and a Shopkeeper, and Guide says there are more people who are willing to come to me for saftey.

I welcome all.

 

My new home, with my roommates. I am the one in the middle with the armor.

 

Nights no longer bring fear to me, with one exception. At night, a beast Guide calls “The Eye Of Cthulu” sometimes comes. It is an immense flying eye, capable of moveing through objects like they arn’t even there. He is incredibly durable, his body shrugging off my sword like its nothing. He has slain me more times then I care to count. Every time I wake up in my bed, and he leaves, satisfied with my death.

He annoys me so.

My mine goes deep now, far more then just a cavern. I have gone so deep, I am beginning to disturb ancient creatures. Jellies twice my size attack, as do skeletons. They pose no threat to me, they don’t even slow me down, nothing slows me down from my goal.

I am going to Hell.

That is no figure of speech, my Guide told me that hell not only exists, its down deep in the ground. I want to find it, and build weapons hewn from its rock, so that I may finally slay that accursed eye. Nothing else has worked, I traveled the land searching for new ways to stop it. I found an immense desert, which while pretty helped me little. I found a jungle, and deep in it a magic boomerang that returns every time, and lights the path that I throw it along. It helped me little. In the other direction from my house, I found a horrid relm that has no name, with flying creatures that tried to tear me apart in packs. I made little progress, and had to leave with no treasure.

I have long since given up hope in leaving, more-so, I am not sure if I want to. I enjoy being a hero to these people, I enjoy searching deep dungeons, and exploreing the far corners of the world. I have not seen the edge, I am certain of that. Guide says there is one, and that at its edge is a dungeon so vast I will never see the end of it.

Challenge accepted.

 

  1. epicturtle
    June 27, 2011 at 1:27 PM

    your posts are getting shorter and shorter

  2. June 27, 2011 at 2:31 PM

    Wait. That one was over 1000 words. Let me edit this, some got cut out somehow.

  3. June 27, 2011 at 2:50 PM

    THERE WE GO. Somehow well over half of my paper got deleted. That irks me.

  4. Brenna
    June 27, 2011 at 8:23 PM

    so good. i love it.

  5. Tom Wilson
    June 27, 2011 at 9:08 PM

    I have to say, you are doing a terrific job of making me want to play this…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment